Top 10 ATP Players Have All Committed To Inaugural ATP Cup

Rafael Nadal at the French Open Tennis Championships in 2019
Rafael Nadal at the French Open Tennis Championships in 2019. Photo by Ella Ling/BPI/Shutterstock (10266531ad)

The ATP, the regulatory body of men’s professional tennis, has recently confirmed that the first edition of the ATP Cup will take place in Australia in January 2020.

In response to the announcement, all top 10 players on the ATP world rankings have agreed to feature at this tournament, including Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer.

The tournament will take place in the host cities of Brisbane, Perth, and Sydney from 3-12 January, and will consist of 24 countries, each of which will play in a group stage and fight for a place in the knockout rounds.

18 international teams will automatically qualify for the tournament based on their world rankings, while Australia will qualify as hosts. The remaining five spots will go to teams according to the ranking of their number one player.

The official draw for the tournament took place last week, with the 19 confirmed participants being sorted into six groups. There are already a number of interesting-looking matchups, with Group F consisting of hosts Australia, Germany, Canada, and Greece.

Each host city will play host to two groups, while the final eight matches will take place in Sydney.

After obtaining a BCom degree, Mathew got his start in data analytics. He then shifted his focus to online content, where he discovered his true passion. Today, Mathew expresses his love for all things content through his business, Mathew Cohen Media Consulting.