Naomi Osaka and Novak Djokovic Win Australian Open

Novak Djokovic during the 2019 Men's Singles final at Wimbledon. Photo by Ella Ling/BPI/Shutterstock (10334028ag)

We officially have our 2021 Australian Open champions, and their names are Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka. Djokovic was victorious over Daniil Medvedev in the men’s singles, and Osaka took care of Jennifer Brady in the women’s match.

Both of these battles were expected to be hard-fought, and they were—although one of them was a bit closer than the other.

The competition between Osaka and Brady was the closer one, with Brady putting up a strong performance, unwilling to concede easily.

In the first set of the women’s match, Osaka and Brady were tied 4-4 before Osaka closed it out strongly. In the second set, Osaka looked a lot more comfortable and ended up defeating Brady in convincing fashion.

In the men’s game, however, Djokovic held down a dominant hand pretty much the whole time.

In the first set, Djokovic started off with a 3-0 lead, and although Medvedev eventually tied it up, Djokovic closed it out with a 7-5 victory.

However, the remaining sets were a lot easier for Djokovic, taking advantage of a handful of errors on the part of Medvedev. Djokovic’s experience clearly paid off with the stakes so high, which is why he was able to snag that Australian Open title.