Shane Bieber, Trevor Bauer Named Cy Young Award Winners

Cleveland Indians starting pitcher Shane Bieber in 2019. Photo by Albert Pena/CSM/Shutterstock (10317989i)

The Cy Young Award this year was won by the state of Ohio, which is where its namesake was born and played most of his career.

This year, the awards for the best pitcher in the National League and American League were awarded to Cincinnati Reds ace Trevor Bauer and Cleveland Indians star Shane Bieber.

Bauer was an absolute force on the mound this season and almost untouchable. He struck out 100 batters in 73 innings, posting a ridiculous 1.73 ERA. Bauer won the Cy Young Award decisively, earning 27-first place votes out of 30.

Bieber was actually even more impressive, posting an 8-1 record with a 1.63 ERA. He struck out 122 batters in 77.1 innings. He finished the season either alone at the top or tied for first in the league in victories, strikeouts, and ERA.

Bieber received all 30 first-place votes and is the first pitcher to receive all 30 votes since Clayton Kershaw did it in 2014.

In each of his 12 starts, Bieber struck out at least eight batters. Bauer did the same in five games.

In one game against the Kansas City Royals, Bieber struck out 14 batters, which was a season-high for him.