MLS All-Star Fan XI Team to Include Carlos Vela, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Wayne Rooney

Carlos Vela with LAFC. Photo by Jevone Moore/CSM/REX/Shutterstock

Major League Soccer fans picked 11 MLS players who will face La Liga giants Atletico Madrid in the 2019 MLS All-Star Game on July 31st at Orlando City Stadium.

The league announced the results of fan voting on Friday, revealing that LA Galaxy’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic, D.C. United’s Wayne Rooney, and LAFC’s Carlos Vela will all be part of the MLS All-Star Fan XI Team.

The attacking trio will be joined by a midfield consisting out of Atlanta United’s duo Ezequiel Barco and Gonzalo “Pity” Martínez, LA Galaxy’s Jonathan dos Santos and Orlando City’s Nani.

Leandro González Pírez (Atlanta United), Walker Zimmerman (LAFC), and Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City) will form the back three with Atlanta United’s Brad Guzan taking the goalie position.

The MLS All-Star reserves will be announced at a later date and will consist out of two Commissioner’s Picks and players selected by team’s head coach James O’Connor of Orlando City SC.

The 2018 MLS All-Star game took place at Mercedes-Benz Stadium and saw MLS All-Stars losing on penalties to Italian side Juventus following a 1-1 result in regular time.