Liverpool Captain Jordan Henderson wins FWA Footballer of the Year Award

Jordan Henderson of Liverpool celebrates a 4-0 victory over FC Barcelona in 2019. Photo by Paul Greenwood/BPI/REX/Shutterstock (10230624fh)

Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year announced on Friday that Liverpool’s midfielder and captain Jordan Henderson won the organization’s Footballer of the Year award for the 2019/20 Premier League season.

While not having flashy numbers to go alongside his name, Henderson captained Liverpool to the club’s first Premier League title in 30 years. This gave the tenacious midfielder an edge over the competition that included Manchester City’s midfielder Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester United’s forward Marcus Rashford as well as Henderson’s teammates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

“I’d like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general,” said Henderson. “But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own. I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own. I owe a lot to so many different people—but none more so than my current teammates—who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.“

Jordan Henderson arrived in Liverpool in 2011 and has since established himself as one of the team’s key players. Henderson made a total of 364 appearances with the club in all competitions while contributing with 29 goals.

FWA Footballer of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious awards in England, established back in 1948. It is presented annually since then and given to the player that had the best season in English soccer. The winner is voted by a panel of 400 journalists.