Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa Headline the Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees for 2020

The Hockey Hall of Fame officially confirmed its class of inductees for 2020 on Wednesday.

The list is headlined by legendary Calgary Flames’ forward Jarome Iginla and Slovakian winger Marian Hossa, who will get in as first-ballot inductees. The duo will be joined by Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson, and Kim St-Pierre alongside executive Ken Holland, who was elected from the Builders category.

The Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony for the class of 2020 is set to take place in Toronto on November 16th. However, the date could change depending on the start of the next NHL season.

Iginla spent the majority of his career with the Flames, being three-time All-Star and winning Art Ross Trophy, Rocket Richard Trophy, and Lester B. Pearson Award during his time with the franchise. He has a total of 1,300 points (625 goals and 675 assists) over the course of his NHL career that spanned for 20 years and 1,554 games.

“It’s extremely special,” said Iginla after learning the news. “I had a hard time sleeping the past few nights. Starting my career. I didn’t dream of making it to the Hall of Fame. It’s a true honor, I’ve been extremely blessed. It’s still sinking in.”

Hossa played 19 years in the league, spending time with Ottawa Senators and Chicago Blackhawks among other teams. He has five All-Star appearances and was Stanley Cup champion three times with the Blackhawks. Hossa’s NHL career stats include 525 goals and 609 assists for a total of 1,134 points in 1,309 games.

“This honor means so much to me,” Hossa explained. “I would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I have learned so much about life through the game of hockey and am very appreciative of this recognition.”

Lowe earned his induction to the Hall of Fame thanks to the fact that he was a member of Stanley Cup-winning teams six times while also making seven All-Star appearances. He played 1,254 regular-season games in NHL.

Wilson, who is a Norris Trophy winner, has scored 237 goals and dished 590 assists in 1,024 games in NHL. He remains Blackhawks’ leader among defensemen in goals with 225, assists with 554, and points with 779 almost 30 years after his retirement.

Kim St-Pierre is three-times Olympic Gold medal winner with Canada’s national team. She is the first female goalie to get inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Finally, Holland is known for his stint as an executive vice president and general manager for Detroit Red Wings between 1997 and 2019. During that time, he led the franchise to three Stanley Cup wins.