Dodgers First Team to Clinch Playoff Spot

Los Angeles Dodgers first baseman Max Muncy (13). Photo by Peter Joneleit/CSM/Shutterstock (10367580e)

For the 7th time in a row, the Los Angeles Dodgers have won the NL West title. Although it wasn’t nearly as dramatic as last year’s title which was won in a game 163 tiebreaker against the Rockies, the Dodgers are happy to have clinched it early and to focus on the playoffs.

Cory Seager led the offense with 2 homers and 5 RBIs, while Gavin Lux hit his first career home run on an emotional night for the young player. Walker Buehler threw 7 shutout innings and recorded his 200th strikeout of the season.

LA’s run of 7 consecutive division titles is the 3rd most in history. The Yankees had 9 from 1998-2006, and the Braves famously hold the record of 14 from 1991- 2005, a record that may never be broken.

While the Dodgers have been so dominant in the regular season over that time period, none of that has translated into a World Series title. After a loss to the Red Sox in last year’s Fall Classic, and this year’s team looking even better and healthier, perhaps this is the year that the World Series banner will be raised in LA for the first time since 1988.