David Miller becomes latest high-profile cricketer to join Canada T20 League

David Miller. Photo by Huw Evans/REX/Shutterstock (9037575ax)

South African star David Miller has become the latest high-profile cricketer to sign up to play in the first-ever Canada T20 League.

Miller is regarded as one of the best T20 batsmen in World cricket and recently won the KFC Colonel’s Always Original Award for his fastest T20 century against Bangladesh.

He follows in the footsteps of disgraced Australian cricketers Steve Smith and David Warner. Both Smith and Warner were handed lengthy bans from international cricket after being found guilty of ball-tampering during Australia’s recent test series in South Africa.  Other players who have signed up for the League include West Indies and Chennai Super Kings star Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell.

The tournament will take place between 28 June-15 July and will feature team’s from Vancouver, Montreal, Edmonton, and Winnipeg as well as a team from the Carribean all competing.