College Football Playoff’s 2020 Participants Announced

Joe Burrow (9) with LSU in 2019. Photo by Kevin Langley/CSM/Shutterstock (10450854bb)

After more than three months of tough competition and lots of drama and controversy, the final four teams that are left standing to compete for this year’s college football championship have been selected.

The top four teams in the rankings, LSU, Ohio State, Clemson, and Oklahoma, will now head into a semi-final competition to decide who will play for the national championship in January.

LSU was awarded the top seed and will face #4 Oklahoma in the Peach Bowl semifinal game in Atlanta. The Tigers ended up with the top ranking after a 37-10 demolishing of #5 Georgia in the SEC Championship Game on Saturday, whereas Oklahoma squeaked in after an overtime winner in the Big 12 Championship Game over Baylor.

On the other hand, #2 Ohio State and #3 Clemson, both of which are undefeated, will square off in the other semi-final at the Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Arizona.

Ohio State, who has looked dominant throughout the season and dispatched of Penn State in Saturday’s Big Ten Championship Game, will look to send the reigning national champions home in what should be a thrilling matchup.

The Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl semi-final games will take place on Saturday, December 28th.